Enter your keyword


1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

About Union Public Service Commission(UPSC)
Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts various exams such as exam for Civil Services, IFS, SCRA etc. Civil services examination is popularly known as IAS exam and includes almost 24 services like IFS, IPS, IRS, IRPS and so on.

IAS Examination, also called Indian Administrative Services Examination is one of the civil services among others and is considered toughest and prestigious examinations conducted in India. Hence to face this challenge that gives a chance to get most eminent designation offered by Indian Government a comprehensive look throughout the syllabus is essential, especially for those candidates who are going to appear for UPSC exams or IAS for the first time.


  • A candidate must have the age between 21 to 32 years on August 1 of 2017.
  • Prescribed age for OBC the upper age limit is 35.
  • SC and ST the limit is 37 years.
  • Physically Disabled (Blind, Deaf, Orthopedic) – 42 years.

Jammu & Kashmir Domicile

  • General Category: 37 years
  • OBC: 40 years
  • SC/ST: 42 years
  • PH: 50 years

Number of attempts

  • General category candidates: 6 attempts
  • OBC category candidates = 9
  • SC/ST Candidates = unlimited
  • Physically Disabled (Blind, Deaf, Orthopedic)
  • General Category: 9 attempts
  • OBC: 9 attempts
  • SC/ST: Unlimited


For appearing in the exam, a degree of graduation in any stream from any university recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC) is required. Candidates who have appeared in the qualifying exam and are awaiting results are also eligible to apply, provided they submit the certificate of qualification along with the mark sheet to the UPSC before the main exam.

A candidate applying for IFS exam must possess a bachelor’s degree in one of the following: animal husbandry and veterinary science, botany, chemistry, geology, mathematics, physics, statistics and zoology, or a bachelor’s degree in agriculture, forestry or engineering from a recognized university.


  • For the Indian Administrative Service, the Indian Foreign Service and the Indian Police Service, a candidate must be a citizen of India.
  • For the Indian Revenue Service, a candidate must be one of the following:
    • A citizen of India
    • a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia or Vietnam  with the intention of permanently settling in India
  • For other services, a candidate must be one of the following:
    • A citizen of India
    • A citizen of Nepal or a subject of Bhutan
    • a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia or Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India


UPSC Civil Services Exam is conducted in three phases:

Phase 1: Preliminary Examination or CSAT (Objective Section)

Phase 2: Main Examination (Subjective Section)

Phase 3: Interview (Vocal Section)

Paper I

Duration: Two hours (Counted for the merit rank in the Prelims)

  • Current events of national and international importance.
  • History of India and Indian National Movement.
  • Indian and World Geography – Physical, Social, Economic Geography of India and the World.
  • Indian Polity and Governance – Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.
  • Economic and Social Development Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector initiatives, etc.
  • General issues on Environmental Ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate Change – that do not require subject specialization.
  • General Science.

Paper II

Duration: Two hours (Not counted for the merit rank in Prelims but a qualifying Paper; just needs 33% marks)

  • Comprehension.
  • Interpersonal skills including communication skills.
  • Logical reasoning and analytical ability.
  • Decision-making and problem-solving.
  • General mental ability.
  • Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude, etc.) (Class X level), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. – Class X level)




General Studies- I

(Indian Heritage and Culture,History and Geography of the World and Society)


General Studies- II

(Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations)


General Studies- III

(Technology, Economic Development, Bio-diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management)


General Studies- IV

(Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude)


Optional Subject – Paper 1


Optional Subject – Paper II

  • Candidates who qualify the UPSC Mains Exam will move to the next and final phase called ‘Personality Test/Interview’ who will be interviewed by a Board who will have candidates resume. The interview round is held by a Board of competent and unbiased intended to assess social traits and his interest in current affairs and analyze the personal aptness of the candidate for a career in public service. Some of the qualities evaluated during the personality test are mental alertness, clear and logical exposition, critical powers of assimilation, variety and depth of interest, balance of judgement, intellectual and moral integrity ability for social cohesion and leadership,.

  • The interview is more of purposive conversation intended to divulge the mental qualities of the candidate.

  • Candidate can give interview in their preferred language as UPSC will make arrangement for the translators.


 Preliminary Exam

Paper Subjects Total Marks Duration
I General Studies 200 marks 2 hours
II Aptitude Skills 200 marks 2 hours

 Main Exam

Papers Topics Total Marks


One Of The Indian Languages Chosen From The Prescribed List









General Studies (250 Marks For Each Paper)



Optional Subject 1


Total Marks For Written Examination



The Interview test will be of 275 marks.



Start On 10th August 2017
Duration 6 month
Seat avaiable 30

Share our course

Call Now